TOP 10 BOOKS

It’s hard not to judge a book by its cover.

In the novel Fahrenheit 451 the government burn the books because according to them you do not need it, they will instead entertain you with something else. The way I see it the government does not want the people become so damn smart thus start a revolution, I mean if the people starts reading they will then think and speak and demand something from the government. All I’m saying is books are if written well a powerful tool to open a different kind of world, meet extraordinary people and tell stories or adventures beyond your imagination.
So put on your reading glasses and let’s get started. Today I will give you my

TOP 10 BOOKS

In this list- obviously, I will base it on all the books that I’ve read however I will limit it to one book per series and if you have some books you’d like to share, please comment below.

10. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows.
J.K. Rowling

It made me imagined myself talking English the Hermione way but you know, things are better with magic.

Deathly Hollows concludes everything- it ended in a satisfying way that it left you wanting to read it all over again, not because you didn’t understand what just happened but because you didn’t want to let go of it yet. You wanted to relive the first day in Hogwarts, the quidditch matches, the parts where you thought it would be Harry and Hermione up to the end, where you hated Snape just as much as you looked up and respected the greatest wizard of all time- Albus Dumbledore, the surprise you got when he just died in front of you, cause you know, he is the greatest wizard for Christ’s sake! The guilt that followed realizing that Severus Snape just did what he had to do and when they’ve defeated he-who-must-not-be-named. Separation anxiety indeed, that’s what it is. You just can’t believe it is finish and you’re left asking, what now? And I know that 10 years after this entry Harry Potter will still be in my Top 10, ALWAYS.

9. Five People You Meet in Heaven
Mitch Albom

I’m not a religious person and all but I strongly believe in heaven, not sure about hell though.

A very touching story about Eddie and his five stages of Heaven. I kinda felt connected with this book, like how Eddie knew that there are no random events in life and all individuals and experiences are connected in some way and I think it’s cool that you’ll get to choose your heaven or rather what seems to have more meaning to you when you were alive. I actually like how Mitch Albom writes about life, faith, love and whatnot without sounding too righteous about it and the way he delivers those lessons in rich words, in a good book such as this.

8. Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Jeff Kinney

Like the movies, first installments are always the best installment in a series.

Start of school and everyone wants to blend in or be someone big and popular and that someone, is Greg Heffley but it seems all his efforts are failing and his sidekick-friend, Rowley is taking all the glory for himself- or at least that’s what Greg thinks. Growing up is a hard thing to do and when you’re short, weak and wimpy you need to work on it 2x over and all the more complicated if you’re competing with your friend. It’s an illustrated kid’s book that I guess most kids can relate to. I like the series’ debut because it’s candid and funny, sometimes with a hint of sarcasm but entertaining.

7. We Need to Talk about Kevin
Lionel Shriver

This book is depressing, depressingly good.

Story about Eva who never wanted to become a mother in the first place but had to cope with it because it’s already there. In the book it’s clear that Eva, Kevin’s mother didn’t want her son, not at all and she thinks that maybe, this is the reason Kevin turned out a monster. Lionel Shriver wrote it in a fashion that is confusing and slow but after a chapter or two you’ll get the hang of it. Eva narrates the story in random events to her husband that I think gives the impression of the unwritten story behind it. By the time Eva unfolds the event before the “major event” it broke my heart, it really did. I like this book, because I felt the need to talk about it with someone, to say that- you know what? I can somehow relate to this book like how Eva was afraid that she might not feel anything if her phone rings one day and brings a terrible news, like someone close to her just died or something. I like to talk about it, the story, the words, the characters. I don’t know if you understand what I mean, but the story just moved me in that way.

6. Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins

My first and maybe the best dystopian novel. I tried reading Divergent, 1984 and the likes but none holds the same connection as Hunger Games.

Although I didn’t like how the series ended nonetheless it was a great book. I like Katniss’ personality, so reserved and distant, Peeta and his good-naturedness, the way he affects people and Katniss, he kinda reminds me that humans are redeemable. I’m more of a Katniss-Gale shipper. Not for the romance but for the friendship, I like those types of friendships. The ones that goes well beyond friends and lovers, ones that has more meaning and depths. It gives a sense of commitment without any obligations and contracts and give-something-in-return feeling. But sadly Gale, in his most annoying reason disappointed me in the end. It’s a fast-paced read, I finished it in two days and by the time the game finale is nearing I’m on the edge, I can’t put the book down as I’m afraid it will end without me. You see, it’s not the plot sometimes, or the settings either. It’s the relationship that you and the character have had in those two days that made the difference.

5. High Fidelity
Nick Hornby

This book got lots of lines or quotations that hits too close to home and I love it.

My top five reasons why I recommend this book.
1. Because it is not really a love story, it’s about pop music, vinyl and mix tapes. Very vintage.
2. Rob and I, we’re meant to be together. Maybe in another alternate world or something. We both belong in a world where everyone should be really happy or really miserable and none in between.
3. Every words, sentences and paragraphs felt very familiar, I could almost claim to be saying it myself.
4. The dark comedy, the ugly truth and the quiet moments.
5. And this – I’d saw there were millions like me, but there aren’t.

4. Kite Runner
Khaled Hosseini

It’s not the war that damages people, it’s the aftermath.

A combination of historical and fictional events about the life in Kabul, Afghanistan. This is a must read but I should warn you that this book is kinda dark and depressing given that unsettling events happened in the story. And as I’ve mentioned I have a thing with deep friendships that has been broken by certain circumstances, I have a thing with people whose lives are so broken that life itself is a wasteland but it did end with a sort of happy ending or at least the beginning of it. I would honestly say that I was expecting a tragic ending to it because of its strong start, not that I don’t like happy endings it’s just that I liked the book in some sick and twisted way and that tragedy would have sealed the deal to a number 1 spot.

3. Tuesdays with Morrie
Mitch Albom

I remember simpler times with this book, a kind of nostalgic feeling. I remember reading it after school or at night before sleep. I remember that it’s the first book that taught me how to read books.

I like it because it didn’t suggest hope or any cheesy stuff about the dying person, it didn’t use the pity card where in your heart will just go out for the person thus making you cry, in its subtle way (for me) it is actually telling you to suck it up and get over it. Of course when you’re dying you see things differently, we can’t help it, it is a way of showing you that time has passed and that life taught you more than you think it did. I wish I could view life the way Morrie Schwartz did, I wish I could detach myself from feelings I no longer need, and I hope to accept that death is part of the deal and that sooner than later it will end. But I can’t, maybe at least not now, maybe if death is hovering over my head then I will see things that way, but not today.

2. Storm of Swords
George R.R. Martin

You bet it’s because of the Red Wedding. Out of the 5 books in the Song of Ice and Fire series, Storm of Swords has the most controversy, game of power and politics and deaths.

You know when you feel something terrible will happen, that there’s something about how the author wrote the following events. From how easy it was to forgive Robb, the surprisingly lovely bride to be, how Catelyn noticed the people who is not present in the wedding, the emphasis that Grey Wind was not allowed in the hall, cause quite frankly you wouldn’t have noticed if the wolf is there or not, the calmness of the moment like it’s just another day to get through. You know something’s amiss and yet it did not prepare you to the inevitable, to the next words, sentences, paragraphs and pages. I was so taken by that chapter I had to stop reading the book for one good month, I was so upset about the whole thing I just couldn’t bring myself to finish the damn book and that, I think is what you called writing. The connection you make with your reader, the exact emotions you wish to get from them once they’ve read your book, how they can be seemingly predictable but then will slap your face with the hard truth saying “nope that’s not what’s going to happen , you see now why I wrote this shit and you’re the reader?”

1. The Red Queen
Philippa Gregory

The book that thought me if you want something too impossible to make, just pray hard for it, for surely you will get it and boy she did.

Lady Margaret Beaufort, a pious woman who believes that she is some kind of Joan of Arc and that God has destined his son to be the rightful King of England, but make no mistake she didn’t just prayed her son’s way to the throne. Allegedly she killed the Princes in the tower of London, betrayed Queen Elizabeth by being a spy and a lady-in-waiting at the same time, connive with the usurpers- well technically his son was the usurper. She’s a classic example of a righteous person who thinks that whatever she did, she did in the name of God, a kind of person whose beliefs are clouded by greed, envy and bitterness. The funny thing about this book is that even though it is clear that Lady Margaret is not the kind of character you’d root for, I found myself praying with her, hoping that one day Henry Tudor will succeed with his cause and that people, his people will rally behind him. I found myself entertained with her snide remarks about Queen Elizabeth, believing the malicious rumors she spread around about the Woodvilles. How I was in reverence the way she prayed for his son, for the defeat of the Royal Family, for the souls of the people who had wronged her family, the implicit way she twist God’s words and that somewhere along the passages she has lost it. A good story telling of the history, rich with controversy and scandal.

Leave a Reply

